Techie Weblog for Geeks
Welcome Cosmo Cyber Check out Weblinks Page for Great stuff
Showing posts with label MS Office. Show all posts
Showing posts with label MS Office. Show all posts

Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Office 2010 PowerPoint Viewer

PowerPoint Viewer for People Who Don’t Have Office 2010

PowerPoint Viewer, as you probably know, is a free application that lets you view PowerPoint presentations on your computer even if you don’t have Microsoft Office installed on your computer.


Microsoft Office 2010 team released a new version of their PowerPoint Viewer that’s much like its predecessor except that it also supports the new PowerPoint 2010 file format.

The PowerPoint viewer can play the new transitions and video effects that were introduced in Office 2010 but if you embedded a web video in your presentations, that won’t play through the standalone viewer.

Also, the PowerPoint Viewer requires installation – had it been a portable utility, you could just copy the presentation and the viewer on a USB drive and deliver presentations on any Windows computer.


~

Wednesday, April 28, 2010

Disable Copy & Paste / Cut command in Office 2003

To disable Copy & Paste command in Office 2003, Install this code into the workbook:



Option Explicit

Sub EnableControl(Id As Integer, Enabled As Boolean)
Dim CB As CommandBar
Dim C As CommandBarControl
For Each CB In Application.CommandBars
Set C = CB.FindControl(Id:=Id, recursive:=True)
If Not C Is Nothing Then C.Enabled = Enabled
Next
End Sub

Private Sub Workbook_Activate()
EnableControl 21, False ' cut
EnableControl 19, False ' copy
EnableControl 22, False ' paste
EnableControl 755, False ' pastespecial
Application.OnKey "^c", ""
Application.OnKey "^v", ""
Application.OnKey "+{DEL}", ""
Application.OnKey "+{INSERT}", ""
Application.CellDragAndDrop = False
End Sub

Private Sub Workbook_BeforeClose(Cancel As Boolean)
EnableControl 21, True ' cut
EnableControl 19, True ' copy
EnableControl 22, True ' paste
EnableControl 755, True ' pastespecial
Application.OnKey "^c"
Application.OnKey "^v"
Application.OnKey "+{DEL}"
Application.OnKey "+{INSERT}"
Application.CellDragAndDrop = True
End Sub

Private Sub Workbook_Deactivate()
EnableControl 21, True ' cut
EnableControl 19, True ' copy
EnableControl 22, True ' paste
EnableControl 755, True ' pastespecial
Application.OnKey "^c"
Application.OnKey "^v"
Application.OnKey "+{DEL}"
Application.OnKey "+{INSERT}"
Application.CellDragAndDrop = True
End Sub

Private Sub Workbook_Open()
EnableControl 21, False ' cut
EnableControl 19, False ' copy
EnableControl 22, False ' paste
EnableControl 755, False ' pastespecial
Application.OnKey "^c", ""
Application.OnKey "^v", ""
Application.OnKey "+{DEL}", ""
Application.OnKey "+{INSERT}", ""
Application.CellDragAndDrop = False
End Sub



• Open up your workbook.
• Get into VBA (Press Alt+F11)
• Double click on (This WorkBook) in the left-hand pane
• Copy and Paste in the code (given below)
• Save your sheet.

So, now when the sheet is opened, the copy and paste functions will be disabled.

Note:
1:When you close the sheet, they will be re-enabled.
2:f the user selects "disable macros" when opening the sheet, they won't work...the sheet will open with cut/copy/paste still working.


~

Wednesday, April 21, 2010

Mysterious Graphical Handling

Mysterious Graphical Handling

Microsoft Word has a handy feature for manipulating shapes and graphics in documents. When you've placed multiple graphical elements, you can group them so they stay together when you move them and remain the same relative size when you resize them.
But in Word 2007 this feature seems not to work. You can't select multiple graphical items, so there's no way to group them or determine which overlapping objects are in front of which others. !

It turns out that in Word 2007, there's an extra step. Before you start adding graphics you have to define a "Canvas" to hold them.
Click Insert -> Shapes -> New Drawing Canvas.
Add your pictures and shapes to the drawing canvas. Now you can group them, ungroup them, put one behind another, and so on—all the actions that you were accustomed to in Word 2003.


~

Saturday, March 20, 2010

See the translation of a word in Word 2007

See the translation of a word in Word 2007

By using the Translation ScreenTip you can see the translation of most words simply by moving the mouse over them !

Translation ScreenTip works for the following languages:

* Arabic (Saudi Arabia)
* English (United States)
* French (France)
* Spanish (Spain, International Sort)

To turn on Translation ScreenTip:

1) Make sure you are on the “Review” tab of the ribbon

2) Look for the “Proofing” group

3) Click on “Translation ScreenTip”

4) Select the language you want to see the translation for, or click on “Turn Off Translation ScreenTip” to turn the translation off.


~

Friday, March 12, 2010

MS Outlook 2007 "Color Code"

MS Outlook 2007 "Color Code to Identify Key Messages"

Often when you open your Outlook, your are lost in a zoo of emails while you need the most important one's immediately. What you got to do is color code the important messages so that you can identify the important emails from your seniors, clients, staff or other team members . This saves a lot of time and ensures that you don't overlook the key messages.

Follow the steps below to color code the emails in Outlook

1: Highlight a message from a contact.

2: Choose Tools, then go to Organize. This opens a new window at the top of your Inbox window.

3: Choose the option Using Colors (found at the left of the window).

4: Pick from option, Choose color for selected message and Apply Color.

5: Additionally, you can also pick Show messages sent only to me as a way to highlight messages that are not part of a group distribution.

6: Optionally, choose Automatic Formatting (upper-right corner of window) to view coloring choices or even to apply a different font.

7: Close the Organize window when you are done. All messages in your Inbox from the selected contact are now color coded.


~

Wednesday, March 10, 2010

Create Text/ HTML Signature in MS Outlook 2007

Create Text/ HTML Signature in MS Outlook 2007

We all want to be unique in our own way. In other words, we all try to leave our signature in whatever there is as ours. Be it our writes or comments or e-mails a signature makes you stand apart because it has your speciality inscribed. There are many online signature making tools.

But how do we implement them ?
Here is a simple way to do it in Microsoft Office Outlook 2007.

1. From the main Microsoft Outlook window, on the Tools menu, click Options, and then click the Mail Format tab.

2. In the Compose in this message format list, click the message format that you want to use the signature with.

3. Under Signature, click Signatures, and then click New.

4. In the Enter a name for your new signature box, enter a name.

5. Under Choose how to create your signature, select the option you want.

6. Click Next.

7. In the Signature text box, type the text you want to include in the signature. You can also paste text to this box from another document.

8. To change the paragraph or font format, select the text, click Font or Paragraph, and then select the options you want. These options are not available if you use plain text as your message format.

9. To add an electronic business card — vCard — to the signature, under vCard options, select a vCard from the list, or click New vCard from Contact.

10. Click Finish when you are done editing the new signature.


~

Add a .swf file to a PowerPoint 2007 Presentation

Add a .swf file to a PowerPoint 2007 Presentation

1) Open PowerPoint 2007

2) Make sure you can see the Developer tab in the “Ribbon”. If you can’t, click on the Office menu (The circle button in the top left hand corner), then click on PowerPoint Options, and make sure that you check the Show Developer tab in the Ribbon box.

3) Go to the slide you want the .swf file to appear

4) Click on the Developer tab in the Ribbon

5) Look for the More Controls button in the controls group. It is the one with a spanner and a hammer with three dots underneath it. Once you find it – click on it

6) The More Controls box will appear. Scroll down until you find Shockwave Flash Object. Click on that, then click OK

7) You will notice your cursor is now a cross, and no longer an arrow. That means you can now draw where you want your Shockwave/Flash file to appear on your slide. Simply draw with your mouse, and use the adjustment handles on the box to make sure it is just the right size and position on your slide. When you are done you should see a wireframe box with a big “X” through the middle of it

8) Now we want to link your .swf file into your PowerPoint 2007 presentation. Click on the box you just drew, then right click, and select Properties

9) In the properties box that appears, look for the Movie property, and then add the location of your .swf file (for example c:\temp\test.swf)

10) Quickly run your presentation and watch in awe as your shockwave file hits the big screen in your PowerPoint 2007 presentation


Note: This only LINKS to the .swf file, so if you email or share the presentation with others, chances are the link will break and you will need to go through the above process again to re-link the PowerPoint deck to the .swf


~

Saturday, March 6, 2010

Autocorrect Options

Autocorrect Options

Autocorrect options allows Word 2007 users to control how their computer automatically inserts text into a document. Users can specify custom text replacment where a simple combination of character would insert a generic sentence into a document or comment box.

To use Autocorrect options: Click Office Button, then Word Options, select Proofing from the left side, then click Autocorrect Options



Once on the Autocorrect screen, there are two columns on the bottom, one for a string of text (orange box) and another with the text to replace (green box). In a document, when you type the the text in the orange box, it will be replaced with the text from the green box. When finished, make sure to click the Add button so your string is saved.


~

Friday, February 19, 2010

Be Time-Zone Aware

Be Time-Zone Aware

In case u want to be Time-Zone Aware, ie., If you work for an multinational company & need to maintain their Time ?.
In Windows Vista, you can add additional clocks to the system tray. Click the clock, and then click Date and Time Settings. Click the Additional Clocks tab. You can add one or two additional clocks to the tray and select their time zones.


~

Thursday, February 18, 2010

Convert Office 2007 files to HTML with Gmail

Convert docx and other Office 2007 files to HTML with Gmail

You need no hacks to read those Word 2007 files (docx) files without Office 2007.



Just mail all the Office 2007 document(s) to your own Gmail account and click the View as HTML link near the email attachment to convert those files into text / HTML format that can be viewed in the web browser itself.



This easy conversion method retains the document formatting (no images though) and works with docx, pptx and xlsx Open XML formats.


~

Tuesday, December 1, 2009

[W] Not a Single file

File created using MS OFFICE 2007 is not single file.




change the extension .docx to .rar or .zip of any file created using MS office 2007.
U get to see many folders in it. its not a single file.
They use XML to store data.

Note: Ur file should contain some data


~